Learning Rust: Part 5

It has officially been a month since I started with Rust. As it stands, I am so motivated to continue on this journey!

I have learned so much in the past month and I am really happy with my progress on this. I thought I would struggle more picking it up, though I suppose the persistence and dedicated time have helped me overcome the issues I faced.

The CLI

I continued with the CLI I built I blogged about in part 4. I did rewrite the implementation of how I grabbed the TCP connections, which made it portable to macOS and Windows. The netstat crate I tried to use didn't get the data I was hoping for, so I continued with the wrapper around bash (and now cmd for Windows). Not ideal, but gotta do what you gotta do.

The next version of this (and this weeks work) is to implement an Android version for this, where one could have their Android device connected via adb. While I don't plan on making this a full adb support system, it will at least make me think more about when is appropriate to panic (e.g. no device over adb) and making assertions and tests.

Other Developments

I have bought myself a Pico WH (to save me some soldering) and a debug probe. When these arrive, I plan on jumping into getting embedded Rust working. I am sure this will throw up all sorts of problems, but hey, that is the best way of learning, right?