Learning Rust: Part 3

Hey, if you are reading this for the first time, I recommend you go read part 1 and part 2.

A Struggle

In general, it is going well. I understand the data types (coming from C#, u32 etc is odd - not just using int!). Structs, enums, traits are also sinking in easily.

Okay, "A Struggle". Well for me, it is the iterators. To be honest, I am a little surprised by this I am really comfortable with the JavaScript variants, such as filter and map. It has been a while since using these though and I have become accustomed to LINQ, so maybe that is it. I think it's good to understand a weakness here though as I can work on it more throughout the next week.

What Next?

For now, I am going to continue with the Comprehensive Rust course by Google. I am on "Day 3" learning now, so hopefully this week goes well too. I am also going to actively continue to identify weaknesses and work on them. I think I am going to try and find some questions and exercises to address it. I will follow up with it next week in part 4!

Reflection

I know this is only my third blog post, but I am enjoying writing them out and reflecting on my week. I feel it is a good time to reflect on progress and work on a plan for the following week.

This is a shorter blog post for sure and I am hoping next week to write more about how I am finding the best way to learn for myself. I will also make sure I share some links to the resources I am using, as I am regularly finding more that look promising and provide different ways of explaining the same concept.

Happy learning!